How is it July is nearly over?

It has been unseasonably warm and I found myself in a tee shirt – in the middle of winter!  Mind you I was working pretty hard.  Slightly panicked by the thought of July having almost passed us by in the blink of an eye, I seem to be looking at what is left on the list.

As the sun sets over my midwinter garden I'm really chuffed with all I have achieved!

As the sun sets over my midwinter garden I’m really chuffed with all I have achieved!

However I really should stop and reflect on how much I have actually done in a month that would normally be spent wrapped up warm inside thinking about gardening.   This month I have been wrapped up warm outside actually doing it and I’ve done loads.  Check out The List…

  1. Make turnip soup – DONE.  I made soup and it was good!
  2. Line new bed with cardboard and fill with soil and plant onion overflow – DONE.  In it are leeks and my Japanese spring onions – to be used in my kiwi version of a Spanish festival.
  3. Finish weeded pea bed, enrich soil and plant peas (keep an eye out for frost!)  – DONE.  All peas are planted and I’m still watching out for frost.
  4. Enrich onion and garlic bed and get ready for planting – NOT DONE… yet….  Soon though… very soon.
  5. Sort out raspberries – including set up support posts and irrigation system –  DONE – kind of.  The posts and irrigation have been relegated to Assembly August, where I will build stuff.
  6. Sort out strawberries – including sensible netting system – NOT DONE… yet….  Soon though… very soon.
  7. Re-pot the lavender into larger polybags – plan and prepare new bed beside deck for lavender.  DONE.  Well the re-potting bit and planning the new bed.   Maybe a job for Assembly August.
  8. Build new greenhouse – Definitely a job for Assembly August.  I’m really excited.
This is the spot for the new greenhouse...  the hill will be gone soon though

This is the spot for the new greenhouse… the hill will be gone soon though

  1. Sow more fennel – Shame prevents me from telling you the truth.
  2. Buy more fruit trees and plant them –  DONE.
  3. Prune and winter wash existing fruit trees – DONE – sort of.  I’ve pruned but I haven’t washed.  This will happen in the coming days.
  4. Prune soft fruit and enlarge their beds.  The pruning is DONE, but extending the beds is a job for Assembly August.
  5. Mow orchard –  DONE TWICE!
  6. Mow garden – DONE TWICE!
  7. Looff the luffas – I’ve been too busy…  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.
Clear beds loaded with the potential for an awesome season ahead

Clear beds loaded with the potential for an awesome season ahead

  1. Clear out pepper bed –  DONE.  A frost came and killed them and I pulled them out – easy.
  2. Enrich asparagus beds – DONE.  The unseasonably warm weather has given me an awesome reward for getting this job done on time.
This is indeed a treat.  They're not normally up until Fathers Day in September!

This is indeed a treat. They’re not normally up until Fathers Day in September!

  1. Check seed supplies and organise new ones if needed. –  DONE – ISH.  I’ve check the seeds and taken out the old ones.  I just need to test the viability of the iffy ones and then order some more.

Oh my goodness – look at all I have done! 13 out of 18 tasks completed! Hooray for me! Of the five full tasks and five half tasks, four tasks should be done by the end of the month and the rest have been transferred across to Assembly August which should be fun.

Come again soon – the end of the list is in sight and I’m really excited!

Sarah the Gardener : o )

18 Comments on “How is it July is nearly over?

  1. We live between Wanganui and Hunterville and have half a dozen asparagus spears up alredy. It has been very warm. The garlic, planted at the end of June is coming up as well.

    Like

    • Hi There. Not only it it really warm for mid winter, farmer friends of ours are beginning to worry about the possibility of a drought as there hasn’t been a lot of good rain in quite a while. I was thinking I may need to get the hose out and water some of my plants. Not something you normally do in July.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

    • HI Elaine. I’m quite pleased with how the garden is looking although there is still quite a bit to do to make it spring ready.
      As for the luffas – I’ll have to show you. It’s on the list so I’ll have to do it at some point soon. Stay tuned.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

    • Hi Alys. Thanks. I’ve worked really hard in the garden over the last wee while. As for the greenhouse, I was generously given a new secondhand one that is actual glass with an aluminum frame. It is a lot better than the one I have now, although I’m hoping to have both of them in use as the greenhouse can get a little crowded in the spring. All I have to do is assemble the new greenhouse – without instructions. Wish me luck.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

      • Score!!! Very nice indeed. Best of luck with the assembly. Maybe you can host a ‘barn raising’ party…have friends come by and help assemble it, then celebrate with tea and salad when the work is done.

        Like

    • Hi Justin… I start by spraying with Copper Oxychloride to control fungal and bacterial disease and then I wait two weeks and spray with Conqueror Spraying Oil to suffocate any bugs. I should have done it a lot earlier, but now is ok. The copper should be done in May, midwinter and September. I missed May but if I do it this week and again in September it should be ok. I’ve not had too many problems with my orchard as it is quite new, but there is some peach leaf curl and the terrible pear slug. The copper should help with the leaf curl, but the slug needs more treatment later on.
      This all seems to be a huge learning curve, mostly coming from dealing with problems as they arise.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

  2. Hi Sarah, I would like to know how you go about winter wash your fruit trees. I pruned mine a week ago.

    Like

    • Hi Tracy. First I need to use Copper Oxychloride then wait two weeks and then spray with Conqueror Spraying Oil.
      For more info check out my comment in response to “Almost Organic Justin” who asked the same question just before you did.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

    • Hi there. Sometimes it is good to look back to see how far we have come or you can be overwhelmed by what is still to do. When I have a big task ahead of me, I remind myself…”how do you eat an elephant? – One spoonful at a time.” Not only does it help to get the task done, it gives you an interesting mind picture while you are doing it!
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

    • Hi Keith. It has been a huge month… and it’s not quite over yet. I may be able to squish in a couple more tasks – hopefully!
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

    • Hi Dana. Reading about northern hemisphere gardens has kept me motivated throughout our winter. It also helps that we have had extremely mild weather, so I can get more done than normal.
      Thanks for your encouraging words.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

Please feel free to leave a comment, I love hearing from you.

