Sowing the seeds of love

I love sowing seeds!  I now have my second round of seeds snuggly planted in warm, damp, seed raising mix.  There were loads more than in the first round but there are still loads to come.

Seeds in soil!  Happy Happy Joy Joy!!

Seeds in soil! Happy Happy Joy Joy!!

I look at the tiny seed trays and think that how on earth is it possible that this small assembly of pots and trays could even begin to fill my garden and even more so, fill my freezer.

But this is such a crazy busy time – well… you’ve seen my list, so please excuse my brief post today, but I have a mountain of tasks to do and so very little time.

Here are some pictures to keep you going.

My carefully crafted labels made from old milk bottles

My carefully crafted labels made from old milk bottles

My handy dandy spray device - perfect for misting seeds

My handy dandy spray device – perfect for misting seeds

My peppers are looking fabulous!

My peppers are looking fabulous!

My monthly photo!  With some very strange birds hanging out in it!

My monthly photo! With some very strange birds hanging out in it!

Come again soon – hopefully I’ll be able to find more words to describe the amazing things I will have done.

Sarah the Gardener  : o )

11 Comments on “Sowing the seeds of love

    • Hi There. I love the hope and potential of an entire season that is contained in such a tiny seed. I love watching them wake up. It is indeed exciting and is my favourite part too!
      Sarah : o )

      Like

    • Hi there. Thank you for you kind words. I use a permanent laundry marker, as it has a fine tip. I think the brand I use is only available in NZ. I will probably only use these labels for the seeds as the writing washing up may not be an issue, but sun fade is – our sun is very strong and can cause a lot of damage. I need to find and alternative for in the garden.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

  1. Middle Mudlet has spotted the two very odd looking ‘birds’ and we suspect they may well be the Lesser Spotted Joeyosaurus and Great Crested Tim the Helper – very rare finds indeed 😉

    It’s such a relief to get seeds started isn’t it – gets rid of that ‘itchy hand’ feeling you get when you just want to get on with the actual act of growing things instead of preparing to grow things.

    Like

    • Hi Elaine, Good job with the bird spotting, although after I took the photo I thought they did look a little creepy just standing their with their bird hats on! I’ll need to work on that for next time!
      There is still loads to do to get the garden ready, but having the seeds sown means that there no time to muck around and I need to just get on. Oh so much to do – so little time.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

  2. It doesn’t seem so long ago that I was starting my seed. Good luck with all your new plants for your garden during the growing season.

    Like

    • Hi Karen. The seasons swing by so quickly. Hopefully this will be the best growing season ever! Each year I hope for this and each year something different is thrown at me – drought, too much rain, too windy. We must be due for just right…
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

  3. I love the labels. I try to label my seed trays, but always manage to throw them out before I go to plant. I will have to be more careful this year when I plant.

    Like

    • Hi Lucinda. I made the labels out of milk bottles. I always make sure I plant in alphabetical order and take photos of the seed tray so that if anything happens I will still know what they are.
      These labels will be no good for the garden as the sun just fades anything written on them in no time. I need a plan for a garden label as I haven’t found anything yet.
      Cheers Sarah : o )

      Like

Please feel free to leave a comment, I love hearing from you.

